Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Stepmom Central Stepmom Central

Child Independence

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 10 Replies

Hello everyone, I'm new to being a mom of any sort, so I have a lot of questions.

I'm currently in a relationship with a man I've known for over a decade.
He has been divorced for about a year and has an 11 year old daughter, who is about as nice of a kid as one could ask for.  Never talks back, always smiling, funny, kind, interesting, etc., but I am really struggling with her lack of independence.  She has been babied her whole life, especially in the last 4 years.  She lives with her mother and grandparents when she isn't with her father.  She doesn't act spoiled, but it's like she has no idea what to do with herself when in the presence of adults.  She seems fine with other kids or at school.

8 months ago, she didn't even cut her own food up at meals, she didn't know how to order meals in a restaurant, she had never made her bed, picked up her room, or made a bowl of cereal.  When we go into stores, restaurants, etc. she doesn't open the door.  She waits for someone to open it for her.  Over the last few months, I've been slowly trying to work on establishing some independence in her, and she and her father are always receptive to the changes, but I seem to be hitting a major wall lately.  Some things have definitely improved, but there are still so many hurdles to overcome, and I seem to be becoming less tolerant of it all.

I'm a type A introvert.  I need to have my space.  I'm a terrible communicator in situations that are out of my comfort zone...this one.