Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Stepmom Central Stepmom Central

Need advice on role as step mom

Posted by on Apr. 19, 2013 at 2:10 PM
  • 44 Replies

I will try to keep this short.  My DH travels for his job mainly in Spring and Summer so he has currently been out of town for two months coming home on the weekends he has his kids.  During the week I have my own schedule with my DD.  I am a substitute teacher and we both have activities such as girl scouts and I volunteer with my soccer region.  I share 50/50 custody with my ex.  We work out our differing schedules between each other.

My SK's BM works crazy hours as a hospice nurse.  She has made sure not to live close to us so to get to the sk's school, its about 45 minutes.  Each of the SK's are signed up for sports in their area.  She cannot seem to keep a babysitter. When my DH is in town, if he is asked at 3 o'clock to pick the kids up he does.  He is lucky enough to have a flexible schedule.  When he is out of town, am I expected to rearrange my schedule at the last minute to pick my SK's up from school when I get a text from DH at 5 o'clock asking if I can pick them up by 6 from after school care?  Remember the school is 45 minutes away.  Both my daughter and I were out sick that day and she missed her Girl Scouts meeting because of it.  I have been called 'a sorry SM' by BM and also a very 'unhelpful wife'.  There has been other times I could not pick them up and take them to two different locations for sports practices.  Am I responsible? 

Thanks in advance! First time asking advice here :-) 

I need to also add that my ex picks our DD up from my house on the evenings he has her. I do not feel I should change his schedule at the last minute.  

by on Apr. 19, 2013 at 2:10 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous on Apr. 19, 2013 at 2:16 PM
4 moms liked this