Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Stepmom Central Stepmom Central

Trying to get SD to open up to me while husband is away for 10 weeks

Posted by on May. 27, 2013 at 3:09 AM
  • 22 Replies
My husband left three weeks ago Monday. We have known each other for a long time and dated for two years before marrying in February this year. He has a daughter who is three years old, named Katie. This is my first time alone with her for this long of a time and we are both missing my husband. She gives me trouble, as do all kids, but sometimes I feel she doesn't want to open up to me, despite me trying to let her. I've known her since she was a baby, and watched her grow up from a distance. I know she has trust issues because of her mother, who was a abusive and neglecting person. After my husband fought for custody (and won), Katie's mother left state and has only come to see her once in the past year. Now, we have been without him for three weeks and I know Katie is missing him very badly, as am I. He could do anything to make her happy and she was always open to it. I could do anything when he was here to make her happy too. Now that he's gone, when I try to goof around (tickle her, make funny faces, play dolls) she gets shy and pushes me away, like when she first met me and didn't know about me. It's weird and really makes me sad everyday. I know she misses her daddy and I want everything to help her out while he is gone. I try to help her better understand that daddy is coming back, unlike her mother who left her, but there is only so much you can do to make a three year old understand. By the days she gets a little more distant from me. She wants to stay with her paternal grandmother and when I come to pick her up she gets sad. We also spend lots of time with my baby brother who is two. (I am about 16 years apart from him. I am 19 and my husband is 20 if there are any questions about that). She loves