Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Stepmom Central Stepmom Central

Having a hard time

Posted by on Jun. 22, 2013 at 12:16 PM
  • 18 Replies

I feel awful for saying this, but I really hate being a stepmom. I've been doing this for four years now, and my step kids are only five years old. So even though I've always been around, it's still so hard and such a thankless job. The worst part is how unsupportive my husband is. He doesn't get it and he expects sunshine and rainbows. My son is out of state visiting family, and so it's been easier for me to go out and find something to do when the step kids are here rather than deal with the frustration they cause when they're here. I know they're just children but they're obviously being coached by their mother and grandparents to ignore what I say and only listen to their dad. 

Sorry for such a long and negative post. I'm just at the end of my rope and I'm sure others have felt this same way. 

by on Jun. 22, 2013 at 12:16 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
packermomof2
by on Jun. 22, 2013 at 12:33 PM

They're five.  They're probably going to dad because he's dad.  Not because someone told them to go their father for things.

My kids are 10 and 12 and still come to me for pretty much everything and not my husband who has been in their lives since the oldest was 3.  

Polkadotted
by Gold Member on Jun. 22, 2013 at 12:38 PM
1 mom liked this
My listen to dad because they hope he'll be more lenient. Chances are I will give an answer that I s not as fun. It's gotten better over the years, but I've taken it up with DH so we are on the same page and he doesn't undermine me and vice versa.
sandeeyo
by Le Bonjour Chat on Jun. 22, 2013 at 12:41 PM

I've known my twin skids for 4 years now.  At 8 , they used to go to dad for everything.  Now they come to me if they want something.