Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Addict BM, not the normal situation

Posted by on Jul. 31, 2013 at 12:46 PM
  • 4 Replies

Hi! I'm new to this but here's my story...  I'm looking for advice and encouragement

My boyfriend and I have been dating for 1 1/2 yrs.  I recently moved in, in May, but had been here 5 out of 7 nights a week for the last 6 months.  He has sole custody of DD8 and DS6 (in Aug).  They see BM when he feels she's well enough for the kids.  Even then, they are supervised only by him and only last an hour or so.  She calls the nights she's not high (I'm guessing) and they talk to her for only about 5-10 mins.  He has the right, according to their divorce, to never let her see them again until she fights for it in court.

--me..... 31 yrs old, no children of my own.  He knows I want one of my own. It was one of our first discussions.

--my boyfriend..... he owns his own business and a house.  Super loving, caring and thankful towards me and the kids.  I think he's either oblivious to some things that go on or he just doesn't pay attention.  Now i know you can't always pay attention, that would ware you out.  But the consistency issue is what I have a problem with.  There's not much.  Now, there's a couple tiny things I've changed since I moved in.  Like, keeping their mouth shut while eating, sitting at the table, not standing to eat.  I even have the 8 yr old telling dad to keep his mouth shut.  One day he said, "See what you started?!" jokingly.  I said, "Good!!" hehe.  Any time I take charge (which isn't often if he's in the room), he supports me and backs me up.  I'm super grateful for that!