Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Stepmom Central Stepmom Central

Long distance relationship w/ BF that has a kid

Posted by on Aug. 15, 2013 at 8:27 PM
  • 45 Replies

Poll

Question: Should I leave my bf?

Options:

Yes

No

Only group members can vote in this poll.

Total Votes: 27

View Results

This is my first time reaching out to others who have been in my position. I'm tired of hearing, "Well you knew he had a kid." Yes I knew but I didn't UNDERSTAND how hard it would be! I'm sorry if this is too long but I'm desperate!

I'm a 22 yo college student, living in NY. My bf is 23, goes to school and works in Ohio. He's very loving. We've been dating for 2 years, his daughter is 5. She's a good kid but sooo spoiled. She started crying over a bag of chips that she said her daddy didn't open for her, which was open and shows how little she tries. You can't tell her anything, in any tone, without her crying and whimpering that she wants her mommy. Which is a lie because I tell her ok and to get her shoes on and she shuts up. She clings to me all day because she loves me but recently I've been distancing myself.

Everything started falling apart last summer when I met his ex. Just being in the same room with her, hearing her being called mommy, made me so sad. She wasn't a name anymore, she was a person. I walked out and started crying in the bathroom. My bf couldn't understand why and he just kept saying how I blew it with his ex. I then tried to apologize to her and she just said not to talk to her, ever, and to have a nice life (very mean and sarcastically). Now the kid says she tells her mommy she doesn't like me because her mommy hates me.