Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

loving them like your own? Is it possible

Posted by on Sep. 3, 2013 at 1:15 PM
  • 71 Replies

Is it possible to really love your step children like your own? I think it is I have been raising my step daughter Peyton who is 10 since she was a two years old. Her mother has always been in and out of her life. Her mom is an alcoholic and does drugs. I also have a son of my own Jacob who is 7. I treat Peyton just like I do Jacob I love her just as much. Do you think its possible? 

by on Sep. 3, 2013 at 1:15 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
whatIknownow
by Ruby Member on Sep. 3, 2013 at 1:18 PM

How often does your SD see her mom at this point?

faerie75
by Platinum Member on Sep. 3, 2013 at 1:20 PM

im sure some people can. i don't. but they have a mom present so i dont need to. they arent here full time. i do love them but not like i love my own three. i do treat them fairly though.

whatIknownow
by Ruby Member on Sep. 3, 2013 at 1:20 PM
2 moms liked this

Also I noticed you made this post 18 minutes after you joined cafemom. 

you sure work fast.

pinklove383
by on Sep. 3, 2013 at 1:25 PM

SD sees her mom maybe once or twice a year depending on when she calls she is very uninvolved. Peyton is like a daughter to me she calls me mom I do everything for her. 

Quoting whatIknownow:

How often does your SD see her mom at this point?

Tinkerbellmama
by Platinum Member on Sep. 3, 2013 at 1:26 PM
2 moms liked this

I think it's situational.

I love SD as much as I love DS and DDs. However, my bond with her is completely different. There's a different bond with a child when you've birthed them, breast fed them, etc. 

GlockMom
by Gold Member on Sep. 3, 2013 at 1:43 PM
3 moms liked this