Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Stepmom Central Stepmom Central

The Happy Stepmother

Posted by on Sep. 24, 2013 at 9:56 AM
  • 22 Replies

Hello,

I am new to CafeMom and am hoping I can connect with a few ladies that have the experience and advice for stepmothering.  I am reading "The Happy Stepmother" book right now and hopefully, I will have a clearer picture when I am finished reading.  This blended family situation has only been 4 months.  My husband has a 15 year old teen that looks at me with venom.  Sometimes she will talk to me and most the other times, she barely acknowledges me and goes to her room forthe night.  The tension in the house could be cut with a knife.  My husband had a talk with her a while ago that he loved me and that he and her mother would never get back together again.  I too, had a conversation with her stating that I was not taking her father away and that she was extremely important to him.  I also said that there was plenty of love from him to go around for all of us. after the conversation, she seemed to be ok with the interaction.

I feel so unwelcome in my own home.  I have spoken to my husband and he and I are on the same page with the "respect" stance in the house.  I gave him a "heads up" that the time was coming up soon that I would be saying something to his daughter about respect.  He says he supports me 100%.  I guess I will find out when I do so. 

I would like to reach out to other women and ask them what they have done to take their power back yet not cause an authoritative tension in the household.  We are newly married and are still in the process of adapting to living together.  He has vistation days of 2-4 days/week with his daughter.  I too have a daughter that comes over once a week.  I just want to feel relaxed and happy!

KD

by on Sep. 24, 2013 at 9:56 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.