Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Stepmom Central Stepmom Central

SM vs. BM - advice please!

Posted by on Sep. 26, 2013 at 1:11 PM
  • 36 Replies

Hello All!

I'm a newbie and at my wit's end.  I am a SM with no bio kids.  My husband has a 14 year old that is awesome!  She loves me, is sweet and very well behaved.  She has some learning issues we have identified so she has started seeing a speech therapist to work on executive functions and non-verbal learning disorder.  I mentioned this a year ago and BM shot it down.  These are issues that had been identified 7 years ago and BM dismissed them... of course... she knows best. Examples of SD learning issues would be reading comprehension and that she couldn't tie her shoes or ride a bicycle until she was 12 due to spatial learning issues. 

A little background about BM.  I am not exaggerating when I say she is a classic narcissist.  The world revolves around her and her schedule.  She only pays attention to her daughter when it is convenient for her.  She is a "licensed therapist" aka she has a mater's in sociology.  She does not have a job and her husband is a psychologist.  She totally manipulates my husband and he would rather avoid conflict than argue with her about most things.  About 2 years ago she used my SD name on Facebook and posted pictures of herself (BM) in bra and panties in provative poses.  I discovered this and we documented her activity for a month and contacted law enforcement.  Unfortunately, internet laws do not cover this and because she is the BM she has the right to her daughter's name.  When my husband confronted her (with a binder full of proof) she claimed "someone hacked" her account.