Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Stepmom Central Stepmom Central

Are there any happy step moms?

Posted by on Oct. 7, 2013 at 11:43 PM
  • 147 Replies
7 moms liked this

I'm still rather new to CM, I joined the SMC to connect with other step moms. Holy heck, I've never seen such ill will by adults to kids in my life! A good portion of the posts seem to be issues with BM. Although I have a wonderful relationship with my dsd bm, I can understand how issues can happen, but there have been a number of posts that were down right hostile toward the children! 

Grow up! As an adult YOU have the ability to over look  and deal with issues with kids. If your step child annoys you,  fights other kids, or other issues, so what? What would your reaction be if it was your bio kid doing these things? You reaction should be about the same. If you show love and understanding to your own kids, you should show the same love and compassion for your step child.

As a step parent, I LOVE my step daugher and her mother. I am greatful and honored this woman shares what is most pesious to her with me. If my dsd has a child it will be my grandchild as much as if it had my blood in it.

Where are all the step moms who love their step child as their own?

by on Oct. 7, 2013 at 11:43 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
progressandjoy
by Silver Member on Oct. 7, 2013 at 11:49 PM
2 moms liked this
I don't think you have to 'love them like your own' to be happy.

To answer your question, I'm pretty happy being a SM.

I do rag about the irritating stuff BM does, but if I'm being honest she's not nearly as bad as she was in the beginning (and compared to some of the BM's on here she qualifies for sainthood).
caligirl7613
by on Oct. 7, 2013 at 11:51 PM
3 moms liked this