Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Stepmom Central Stepmom Central

Stepmom's - With real mom responsibilities!

Posted by on Oct. 31, 2013 at 10:54 AM
  • 82 Replies

Hey ladies - I have a question, 
(NO BASHING)

So, I have been raising my stepdaughter since she was 4 years old. & for the last 5 (almost 6) years, her real mother (egg donor rather) has only seen her a handful of times. SERIOUSLY NO JOKE! I can't say that I am mad about her NOT seeing her, as she is a raging druggie, she's nasty, (& not just because she is my husband's ex, because she is legitly NASTY, even people around town her know her, will say it also)

Anyway, I have been thinking about Step-parent adoption. I know me being married to her dad gives me the option to put forth an option for the birth parent to give up her rights & my stepdaughter will legally become my daughter & she won't be able to hurt her anymore. 

Has anyone else done this? Or thought about doing this?
Did the birth parent willinly sign over rights?
Does this go over well, or not?

I know what it's like to have a mother JUST like her, because I do have a mother JUST like her mother.
She now rots in rots in prison. She has ALWAYS been a stranger to me, & always will be. My children will never see her.

My ex WILL NOT talk to her, look at her, take any contact from her whenever it is (every 6-16 months) that she does actually try to pretend to be a human for a minute & remembers that she HAS a child.
Within the last 2 years, she has seen her TWICE! & I took her to go see her. NOW she is mad at me for some reason or another (idk how druggie's mind's work) & she won't talk to me. I told her if she wants to schedule to see her, then she'll have to talk to me & she said "I don't care! I'm not talking to you!"

To me, that says she does not care or have ANY interest in seeing her daughter. She hasn't called her in MONTHS (since April).