Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Stepmom Central Stepmom Central

BM's boyfriend discipline by smacking and spanking

Posted by on Feb. 3, 2014 at 10:37 AM
  • 32 Replies

Hi All, 

I am new to this web site and I hope there is someone out there that can point me in the right direction. I am at my witts end.  I live in Florida with my boyfriend.  He has two children 11yr boy and 8yr girl from his previous marriage.  We found out last night that the BM's live in boyfriend is disciplining the children with spankings and smacking them in the back of the legs and face when they mis behave or don't respond to him.  Neither of us believe that they are being "abused" but find this COMPLETELY inappropriate.  He (the father) attempted to have a conversation about it with the BM and her boyfriend but they both refused.  It ended with the two parents in a huge fight and nothing resolved.  

As I have a very good / healthy relationship with my ex husband and we have always agreed on the raising and discipline of our children together I am completely lost on how to navigate this situation.  

My boyfriend (the father) wants to call the police and attempt to have the children removed immediately.  I don't believe that it needs to be that extreem and I am attempting to find an alternate solution that will address the issue but not involve such drastic messaures.  

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated :) 

by on Feb. 3, 2014 at 10:37 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
amomynous_j
by on Feb. 3, 2014 at 10:42 AM
7 moms liked this

this is a case for CPS..the police won't intervene unless CPS require them to be removed from the home..

i'm not sure how one can say this ISN'T abuse, because it very clearly is. a spank on the bum is debatable, but in the face and elsewhere? completely unacceptable. 

HopesNDreams