Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Stepmom Central Stepmom Central

Insurance issue for SD....

Posted by on Mar. 20, 2014 at 7:45 PM
  • 58 Replies

I have skid on my insurance and BM sends me an email stating that the dentist and doctor's office want my SSN and other information as the insured party. I told her that they have my subscriber ID cards and can verify coverage that way. No way in hell is my personal info going on paperwork for BM to get ahold of.  Typically, the only person who provides the SSN is the one who is financially responsible correct?  I don't want her to try to rack up bills in my name or trying to pull my credit or who knows what. Am I being unreasonable protecting my information or is this the norm when someone else provides insurance? No other doctors have asked for my SSN when BM set up appointments.This is my first time dealing with this issue so I have no clue what to do. Any suggestions or advice would be helpful.

Oh, I carry the kids on my insurance because it is tons better than my husband's and covers a lot more..just in case some were wondering. It's not a control issue, rather a common sense issue to provide the best coverage possible.

by on Mar. 20, 2014 at 7:45 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
HopesNDreams
by Silver Member on Mar. 20, 2014 at 7:51 PM
Frequently, they will ask for the subscribers SSN as a way of identifying the account or researching it. It access it on the system. The card should do the same thing. I would just offer to call the office for BM if the doctor is having any issues.

I get asked for this information for my DH all the time - he is the insured party. It's not at all unusual.
owl0210
by Bronze Member on Mar. 20, 2014 at 7:53 PM
I would not give out your SSN to her. Call the office directly.
cdrainey3
by Cher on Mar. 20, 2014 at 8:08 PM