Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Stepmom Central Stepmom Central

I feel like a roommate more than a wife in my own home

Posted by on Apr. 2, 2014 at 10:47 AM
  • 191 Replies
1 mom liked this

I'm new to the sight and hope to vent, learn and share with everyone out here :)  A little background info would help.  I have two kids 25 and 22 and 3 stepkids from my first marriage.  Everyone is out of the house except my daughter who graduates college in one month.  I married a wonderful man two years ago.  We dated for 4 years, but moved in only a couple of months before the wedding.  One week before the wedding, both his kids, 16 and 17, asked if they could move in with us.  I did not have a problem with it and was actually flattered the kids wanted to live with us.  All that being said, it's not the kids who are the issue, but my husband.  He does not realize I am the wife and other parent in the house, or that I've had to make a lot of adjusments considering the living arrangements.  I could not in good conscience say no they can't move in with us, but I was not prepared for all the changes.  His kids rarely go out or have friends, but they are good kids (no drugs or alcohol).  I commute 2 hours roundtrip and work 9 hr days (my husband is my age but lucky enough to be retired) When I get home, I like to sit and talk with him about our day and sometimes share a glass of wine before going up to shower before dinner.  His kids shared a car and I would usually get home 1 1/2 hours before the high schooler got home from activities at school.  Now that the car has been totaled by her, dad gives her a ride to school and picks her up after acitivities and gone is our time to talk before she got home every night.  But as if that's not frustrating, after we're all done with dinner, she sits with us in the family room the rest of the night and usually spends it texting, talking a little with us and sometime