Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Stepmom Central Stepmom Central

Child repeatedly screams for father - help!

Posted by on Jul. 3, 2014 at 11:46 AM
  • 70 Replies
I'm not technically a step parent, but my boyfriend and I have been friends for over 20 years and together about 2 years...so close enough. His daughter is 5 (I have 2 children of my own ages 12 and 10), and she is absolutely wonderful (they all are) most of the time. Sometimes though, while he is at work and she is with me, she will get upset over the smallest thing (today she was having trouble with a game) and she will just start screaming at the top of her lungs. ..first that she can't do it and then it just changes to "I want my daddy!" Repeatedly. This will go on anywhere from 5 minutes to 30 minutes. Sometimes I can get her to stop by distracting her but other times she starts kicking furniture or more recently trying to hit or kick my children. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
by on Jul. 3, 2014 at 11:46 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
whatIknownow
by Emerald Member on Jul. 3, 2014 at 11:51 AM
1 mom liked this

My advice is, leave the room.

faerie75
by Platinum Member on Jul. 3, 2014 at 11:53 AM

this, its an attn grab. take your kids and leave the room. i always left the room when my ss had a tantrum. i dont do tantrums.

Quoting whatIknownow:

abigailsmommy11
by Kelli on Jul. 3, 2014 at 11:58 AM
2 moms liked this