Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Stepmom Central Stepmom Central

Helping everyone adjust eta update (vent) from this evening

Posted by on Jul. 13, 2014 at 7:05 PM
  • 224 Replies
Im not technically a sm yet but I will be soon and my 3 kids (dd 14, ds 12 and dd 6) and I recently moved in with my fiance and he has his 2 kids (ds 10 and dd 8) all summer. 5 kids who do not really know eachother stuffed into a smallish 4 bedroom house is a lot. The 2 younger girls share a room. The 2 boys share a room and my oldest girl has a room to herself.

We are going through some major adjustment issues,which I get is probably very natural. My fiances 8 yr old daughter is constantly annoying everyone in a bid for constant attention. My 6 yr old dd has been very moody and bratty in general (usually a very sweet natured girl). My fiances 10 yr old ds who has adhd and anger issues has been acting out a ton and refusing to listen to me. The only ones who seem relatively unphased are my older 2, though they fight like cats and dogs but then they always have.

Im getting overwhelmed by all the chaos and fighting.i work full time days at a very demanding manufacturing job. My fiance works 60+ hrs a week. We are hurting for money because i just started working there a week ago and havent gotten a check yet so we have all been living off of his income. We are all very stressed and exhausted and its becoming too much for any of us.

What can I do to help make this transition easier on everyone?