Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Stepmom Central Stepmom Central

How much should a parent put up with?

Posted by on Aug. 30, 2014 at 5:27 PM
  • 28 Replies
Control and manipulation from a child/pre-teen? Ss12 likes to say DH is a bad father, is stupid, lowlife, etc when he's not getting his way. DH tells ss he's not putting up with thus behavior and leaves the place that ss is acting out at. Then ss ask for forgiveness and DH tells him no. Ss does this all the time. DH has told ss therapist about this continuos issue but nothing changes. Ss is autistic and high functioning. He knows what he is doing and won't leave DH along until he accepts the apology.
by on Aug. 30, 2014 at 5:27 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Leigh84
by Silver Member on Aug. 30, 2014 at 6:13 PM
I have no experience w/autism however; a lot of teens and pre-teens will try manipulation tactics to see what they can get away with. I think if your SS apologized your DH should accept his appology.
WLA_diva
by Member on Aug. 30, 2014 at 6:36 PM
1 mom liked this

This is (or used to be) my DH's life, too, except without the autism and the apology.  I know we SMs are not supposed to get involved in a parent/child relationship, but I could not/will not allow such disrespect to ANYONE in my home.  When I stood up to SD20 telling me what a horrible father he is (just because she could not get her way), that was the exact moment I became a horrible SM and totally walked into BM's set-up.  After almost 4 years of a consistently very good relationship with SD20, I have become the scapegoat and one of the reasons for the girls not wanting to come over.  

<shrug>  I feel very badly for the deterioration of the relationship, but if DH had made different decisions (such as not letting the tail wag the dog), then perhaps he (and I) would not be in this situation.

jules2boys