Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Hiding out!

Posted by on May. 17, 2015 at 12:45 AM
  • 9 Replies
Step parenting is tough! It's Saturday night and I'm hiding out in my bedroom because of a 4 year old! I'm new to this and it's hard. I do as much as I can to show ss I love and support him in all positive things. One minute he is sweet and in a snap, he becomes the most defiant, disrespectful person I know. This has been going on since I've Known him. My husband gets him every other weekend and wants to be the typical good time dad. He had been punishing with time outs and some spankings. Now it's turned into back-patting and sweetly saying, we don't talk like that to others. Ugh! I made the mistake of telling hubby that wasn't working at all. And so the kid continues to talk ugly to me, back talk, etc and now I have a mad man. So, here I am, hiding out and counting down the hours. Help!
by on May. 17, 2015 at 12:45 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
runinpinkshoes
by Gold Member on May. 17, 2015 at 1:05 AM

It is tough, I'm sorry! Why has your husband changed his parenting tactics? He's not doing his kid any favors, at that age.

reynab27
by Member on May. 17, 2015 at 1:17 AM
Yea...sounds like my bfs dd...so much fun huh? =/
whatIknownow
by on May. 17, 2015 at 7:19 AM

I agree with your husband's parenting style. If he is rude to you, walk away. It's good that your husband is doing all the childcare when his son is there. Clearly the punishing wasn't working so dad is trying something different.

What is the boy doing that is defiant and disrespectful?

LuvLiddy
by Member on May. 17, 2015 at 9:02 AM