• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Childless stepmom in need of advice or support! Anything just help!

Posted by on Jan. 31, 2016 at 8:06 PM
  • 32 Replies
I'm new to the whole support forums and I am looking to speak someone immediately. I feel like I'm going to lose my mind and my heart is in a million pieces. I'm 29 and have been with BF for three years and we are engaged to be married soon. I have put it off and changed dates so many times. He has an 8 yr old little girl. I have no kids of my own but want to after we get married. Im not an actual step mom but I'm basically one and will be a legal one this summer. The BM hates me and tells my SD lies about me that she believes and that makes her treat me horrible. I love her so much. It's very long and complicated so I'm not going to type every single thing. Being a step parent is so hard. Emotionally debilitating. I need to talk to another step mom because I'm actually thinking it would be better if I wasn't in this relationship.
by on Jan. 31, 2016 at 8:06 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
codysara
by Platinum Member on Jan. 31, 2016 at 8:14 PM
You deserve happiness, and unfortunately the actions of bm and sd may never change. What does your fiancé say about the issues? (Assuming he knows since you have stalled the wedding date repeatedly)
chanizen
by on Jan. 31, 2016 at 8:25 PM
2 moms liked this
I'm not sure why this is emotionally debilitating.

Bm doesn't like you. Ok. Lots of people like it don't like me. I'm not hanging my happiness on their opinion. Lots of people do like me. I'm more likely to listen to them.

She "tells your ss lies". First, how do you know? Do you hear her directly saying this stuff or hear it second hand. I always suspect second hand info from kids. They aren't reliable reporters all the time.