Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

SP/Adult SKids Question (possible trigger? - death mentioned)

Posted by   + Show Post

I have NO experience with this but I thought I'd ask here.  

Have any of you, or your adult kids, lost a BP but remained close to your SP?  (SM or SF, I doubt it matters)  

SOs SM recently died.  He loved her (so did I).  She was an incredible lady.  

His BF and SM had been married 23/24 years, they'd married when SO and his sister, AND SMs two sons, were all adults already, so neither parent 'raised' the other kids, though they've been through much with each of the adult 'kids' over the years.  Due to some reasons I'm only peripherally aware of (and I'm sure I'm missing some information too), one of her DSs has waffled between not speaking to his SF anymore, or when he does, he's downright mean/nasty.  He's angry and hurt by some decisions made towards the end of his BMs life, but these were decisions his own BM requested (he just didn't/doesn't agree with them).  His BM isn't here, so I think he's lashing out at the person who IS still here, SF.  But, again, I'm also sure I'm missing some information (as it's truly NOT my business, I know that), so there could be more to this than I an hypothesizing too.  ;)  

Is it common/uncommon for adult Skids to pull away from the 'former' (?) SP, if they had maintained a good, close relationship while their BP was married to their SP?