Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Dumbfounded

Posted by on Dec. 26, 2017 at 1:16 AM
  • 7 Replies
Hi! I am new to this - besides talking to my husband and family i really haven’t disclosed many of my issues. Don’t get me wrong - my husband is SUPER supportive as is my family but still I feel as if i need an outside opinion on how to best deal with my situation. My husband and I have been married for 2 years and together for 3 and a half. He has 3 kids with his ex and they all have lived with my husband and myself for the past 2 years. He is military and has been deployed in the past so she was essentially their primary caregiver often. She lived in our town until a year and a half ago yet still would stop by to see or take the kids to her place once a month. She decided to give up child support and full custody of the children because “ she never got to live her young adult life because she was too busy having his kids “. The eldest daughter isn’t my husbands biological child — his ex was already pregnant with her when they began dating but my husband adopted her and she is by all means his child. The eldest daughter is 14 and he and the ex had a son who is 12 and a daughter who is 9. There have been Many issues with CPS being called on his ex and once the kids came to live with us they began to open up about a lot of trauma and abuse they had endured while living with the ex. We got the older kids into seeing a counselor but instead of helping it seemed to open all wounds. The eldest started to take all her anger towards her mama out on me. She was threatening to kill me in my sleep, to run away ( i would hide her shoes at night ), burn down our apartment, and eventually started self harming by cutting “ I HATE ANNIE”. Long story short, she has been a mental health institute 5 times — hiding a knife in her closet and pulling it out and threatening her dad, slapping me 6 times, threading suicid