Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Setting boundaries with BM

Posted by on Jan. 16, 2018 at 4:23 PM
  • 30 Replies

I'm very new to this world, and need some advice how to work with my recently divorced BF on setting boundaries with the BM.

I get along great with the 3 kids, so no issues there, but the BM wont even look me in the eye nor acknowledge my presence even when I used to say hi when she'd walk in the house, and have never been agressive or rude to her. I just moved in after the divorce finalized, she had 7 days to remove any items she wanted from the house (which has passed), and she hasn't been living there for the past year almost. Up to now, she's not taken any of her stuff, signed off her rights to the house, yet she walks in whenever she wants and just started yelling. I locked the door once since I was home alone and jumping in the shower. She showed up with no notice, and proceeded to bang on the door and curse and yell until I could make it to the door and called BF to complain. 

My question is, is it over the top for me to want to change the locks to the house so that she cannot just come in whenever she wants, unnanounced? I also want to give her a month to finish getting her stuff out so that I can unpack and not worry she's going to come in and go through my stuff as she's taking her belongings. 

BF is  very heistant to hold her to a timeline or change the locks to keep her out because she blows up and causes a scene, she's been abusive in the past and will start throwing things, so he wants to avoid confrontation, and I can understand that, but at some point we need to be able to live our own lives without wondering if she's going to just barge in. 

Any tips on how to justify my requests is greatly appreciated, thanks!

by on Jan. 16, 2018 at 4:23 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
destinyangl21