Getting New Moms Adjusted to Mommyhood One Step at a Time

Group Home

American Hustlers: Finding Ways to Make Extra Cash

Posted by   + Show Post

Name: Sherrie Tennessee
Hometown: Miami
Day job: Customer service associate
Moneymaking gig: Mystery shopper

I've been doing this since 2007 and I love it. It's a great way to make a little bit of cash.

sherrie-tennessee.jpg
Photo: Sherrie Tennessee
Sherrie Tennessee, Sherrie Tennessee earns her gas money as a secret shopper.

My friend was a mystery shopper and she told me about it, but you have to be careful because there are a lot of scams.

I try to do one at least once a week. My favorites are the Leslie Swimming Pool Shops. I observe the outside, make sure there's no trash or debris and the sign is straight, then go inside and listen for music and note how the store looks. It's the easiest $20 to $30 you can make. That's gas money.

I did another at a Dairy Queen where I got free ice cream and got paid, so you can't beat that.

Flips Art on Craigslist and eBay

Name: Aaron LaPedis
Hometown: Denver
Day job: Gallery owner
Moneymaking gig: Flipping art and memorabilia on Craigslist and eBay

aaron-lapedis.jpg
Photo: Aaron LaPedis
Aaron LaPedis has honed his craiglist and eBay skills into a lucrative second job.

I got started when I was seven. When my mother and I put on our first garage sale, I got the bug.

A couple of years ago when my art gallery wasn't doing well, I went back to what I knew. Now I go to secondhand stores like the Salvation Army, estate sales and garage sales looking for things I can sell.

I love art and presidential memorabilia. I'm on eBay and Craigslist everyday selling stuff and buying stuff. Just the other day, I bought a piece of art and the description was wrong — they didn't say it was signed by the artist but I knew it was signed. They were selling it for $400, but I will probably re-list it for $3,200.