Welcome to the Club

Getting New Moms Adjusted to Mommyhood One Step at a Time

Group Home

What Would You Buy: E-Readers, iPads and Phones

Posted by on Apr. 24, 2012 at 12:00 AM
  • 34 Replies

I'm actually writing this on a new laptop. It's an early birthday present from my husband and family (yup, turning the big 4-0 next week...have I mentioned that lately?). It's a big deal: I needed it (it is much lighter than my old one) and, yes, let's just say I'm not that tech savvy. Setting it up, getting all of my icons the way I like them, and so on is a big deal.

When it comes to electronics and gadgets, we all have our preferences (that is why they call it that on the actual little gizmos). Sometimes these things are a necessity, as we may need them for our jobs, but other times, it is a treat. So, when picking out those phones, computers, tablets, and e-readers, what should you keep in mind as you give yourself a little electronic indulgence?

Tablets: When it comes to tablets, like iPads or Kindle Fires, you really need to look at how you are going to use it (and who else will be using it). If you are going to surf the web, play Words with Friends, and have your kids play some cool educational games on there, the iPad is the way to go. If you are interested in mainly reading, want a more portable way to dive into your books and if you want to spend less money, then head to the Kindle store at Amazon.

Phones: Do you really need a phone that you can send emails on and an unlimited texting plan? Think about it. This is a great way to save money of you don't need to do all of that. However, If you do text with your husband a lot or if you are class mom and send a buttload of emails and need to be in touch more than regular calling, then that iPhone or Droid is the choice for you. Think how that bit of indulgence will make your life easier.

Do you have a Kindle or an iPad? Why do you like it?

ŠiStockphoto.com/ hocus-focus

by on Apr. 24, 2012 at 12:00 AM