Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Family Piggy Bank The Family Piggy Bank

For a family of four we spent $400 each month last year. And every 2-4 months another $80 - $140 on meat (it was $140 every two months, then I got smart and found another market and cut out red meat. Now it's 80Lbs of chicken for $80-$90 and that lasts 4 months)

I've decided to challenge myself to cut back more this year. Finances are SUPER tight right now, but DH does not want me going back to work until I finish nursing school. He says my degree is most important and we will cut back where we need too. So I'm trying to do it on $200 each month, with $25 going into savings to buy that meat package every 4 months. I feel like it's going to be easy with the way prices are now, but I hear all this talk about things going up.

Is your budget going to suffer severely if prices go up, or will you adjust your habits to account for it?

Wife to B in love

Mom to two lovelies twin girls

Blogger @ The Queen Of Chaos  nerdy

by on Jan. 3, 2013 at 12:27 PM
Replies (11-20):
melaniecerise
by Member on Jan. 3, 2013 at 2:52 PM
My budget is $200 every other week. It is me, dh, ds 5 and dd 4. I can usually do it for $120-150 every other week though. I am a savvy shopper
erikays
by on Jan. 3, 2013 at 2:58 PM
Family of 5, about 100-150 a week.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
baconbits
by Bronze Member on Jan. 3, 2013 at 2:58 PM

Family of 5 and we spend about $200 - $300 per month. We're able to keep that low because of raising our own beef, pork and chicken (sell extra's). We also have our own eggs and a huge garden. Basically we end up buying the staples. I do not include things like dog food in our groceries because that fits in our "farming" budget. The seeds and plants however go in the food budget.

SweetMama823
by Member on Jan. 3, 2013 at 5:40 PM
I'm gonna try to budget $150 a week for fam of 6.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
slw123