Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Family Piggy Bank The Family Piggy Bank

Planning a party and need some help please

Posted by on Jun. 10, 2013 at 9:55 AM
  • 6 Replies
Hi all! I graduated from my OTA program Saturday the 8th and next Saturday the 15th is my birthday :) My husband and I came up with the idea to have a 3 in 1 party (Summer Kickoff, graduation and birthday all combined). We need some ideas for food. We were thinking like a sandwich meat and cheese thing along with some easy finger foods. Any one have any ideas other than a veggie tray and chips? Also, I had invited about 100 people (all family and close friends), but yet only about 20 or so have responded. How many should I plan for? Thanks!
by on Jun. 10, 2013 at 9:55 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
PB0824
by Member on Jun. 11, 2013 at 8:05 AM

Congrats & Happy Birthday on the 15th!!!  

For parties, I suggest:  Hot dogs & hamburgers on grill, and maybe even chicken breast on the grill.  Macaroni salad, potato salad, coleslaw, garden salad, pickles, fruit platter, chips, cookies.  Maybe add baked beans.  Because of your special celebration though, I would have a special cake made for graduation and birthday.  If your family does not like cake, you could always get ice cream or the ice cream in cups (marketed for little kids) work great for picnics.  

If money is tight and you have close friends or relatives who are willing to bring something to help out, tell them the things you want and maybe they will offer to bring something.  We put all of the above food items out for under 20 people.  The cooked meats are usually gone by that night, but most all of the other dishes we have left overs. Sometimes we serve lunch and then dinner at our summer picnics, it helps reduce the amount of left overs.  Have fun.

rory10
by New Member on Jun. 11, 2013 at 8:08 AM