Advertisement
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Should you stay married for the sake of the kids?

Posted by on Oct. 10, 2011 at 1:53 PM
  • 26 Replies

What do you think? Is it better to stay in an unhappy marriage for the sake of the kids? Or is it better to split?

punching    

by on Oct. 10, 2011 at 1:53 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Mom82420
by on Oct. 10, 2011 at 2:01 PM

I know some that have done this and I'm not a proponent of it.  I think kids see/know more than we give them credit for.

I believe if a parent is unhappy then they need to either work things out or get out because in the end...the kids know.  Unless the unhappy parent is a good actor/actress.

But this is just my opinion.

ffirsttimemommy
by on Oct. 10, 2011 at 2:02 PM
I say no. You don't want your kids growing up thinking it's ok to be unhappy.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Miss-B
by on Oct. 10, 2011 at 2:02 PM

Quoting ffirsttimemommy:

I say no. You don't want your kids growing up thinking it's ok to be unhappy.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
free1
by on Oct. 10, 2011 at 2:23 PM

I think it would be better to split.  Esp. if the marriage has verbal, or physical abuse.   And also, I think the kids would eventually know (if their parents have a good marriage or not).  IMO

htreveth
by on Oct. 10, 2011 at 2:32 PM
I think, if there is zero abuse, the parents should stay together. If the adults can be adults and no bashing, fighting, etc. I know it would be difficult & possibly unrealistic but that would be best for the kids. IMHO. :)
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
mrsnoble2004
by ♥Arlene♥ on Oct. 10, 2011 at 2:39 PM

I don't think staying together for the kids sake is a good reason to stay married.

jltplk25
by Gold Member on Oct. 10, 2011 at 3:22 PM