Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

at home daycare provider or daycare facility?

Posted by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 10:12 AM
  • 9 Replies

just curious what your thoughts are 

my son is 1 yr & 16 months old, im putting him in daycare cause i start school. i interviewed a really nice lady who does daycare out of her home (been lisenced for 20 years) just wanted to see anyones pros cons about this he has never been in daycare so im new to this.

by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 10:12 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
sweetmissy_05
by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 10:17 AM

My girls go to an at home daycare provider.

goddess99
by Michelle on Feb. 8, 2012 at 10:19 AM

My dd's never been to day care so Idk but did you get references? But then again the only people that would be on her reference sheet are people she likes so it doesn't really help. Idk, I had family watch my dd, I just don't trust people.

mom2gr8tgirls
by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 10:20 AM
My kids have only ever been to at-home daycares. I was going to go back to work after my DS was born so I interviewed a couple of facilities...I liked one, and got rubbed the wrong way by the other. But, I ended up not going back to work.

Whichever you choose, check up on them. Most states have an agency that you can check with for any violations, as long as the daycare is licensed (facility or home). But ask the provider about the violations...allow them the chance to explain. We almost missed out on an amazing provider when our oldest was a baby because I checked her out and saw a food violation. I asked her about it and it was absolutely ridiculous. She watched DD for 4 years...loved her. I'm still friends with her to this day. Good luck!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
supermommyy21
by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 10:25 AM