Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom to Mom Mom to Mom

Math learning at school...

Posted by on Jul. 23, 2012 at 12:18 PM
  • 12 Replies

Hi Moms,

I'm posting this because of an article (or book chapter, I can't remember which) I read recently.  With the school year starting soon, I thought it was important to spread the important message.

I'm an elementary school teacher. I can't tell you how many times over the course of my career I've had parents tell me, "Well, my child isn't good at math and I wasn't either, so I know he'll be ok."  It sort of dismisses their difficulties. I have NEVER had a parent tell me "Well, I wasn't good at reading, so it's ok."

When your children start back to school and start getting math homework, if they struggle with it, please don't tell them that it's ok to be bad at math. I know so many people who do this and think they are comforting their child. Really, they are making it ok to not try hard and to fail at it.

If your child has difficulties with math, talk to their teacher. Get them help. Just never tell them it's ok to be bad at math. You wouldn't say that about reading.

Thanks for reading!  Wishing your children a successful school year!

by on Jul. 23, 2012 at 12:18 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
goddess99
by Michelle on Jul. 23, 2012 at 12:33 PM

Thank you!

Janet
by Ruby Member on Jul. 23, 2012 at 2:07 PM

Thank you, I have trouble with math also.

OliviasMommy611
by on Jul. 23, 2012 at 2:09 PM
Thanks.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
tennisgal
by on Jul. 23, 2012 at 2:11 PM
1 mom liked this

I think parents own fears and anxieties rub off. My boys love math and i have to keep my own distaste for it out of the equation (did you like that, lol). However, my DH is an engineer, so his excitement makes up for it, I hope!