Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom to Mom Mom to Mom

Hello

Posted by on Oct. 2, 2012 at 10:37 AM
  • 14 Replies

Hi. My name is Sandi. I have a four year old son, Nick. Was just exploring and found this site. Was looking for suggestions on how to deal with some of the behaviors my boy is exhibiting. I am a teacher so I have a pretty good background, but this is beyond my knowledge level. Nick is being defiant and just downright mean at times. He is talking back like a teenager already. He's taking temper tatrums and screaming at the top of his little lungs. I have tried everything I can think of from time outs to sticker reward charts. They may work for a short time (and yes, I am consistant with them) but then the behavior starts again. Any suggestions?

by on Oct. 2, 2012 at 10:37 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
abmaddox1981
by on Oct. 2, 2012 at 10:40 AM
Hi and welcome! When my kids act out like that, they lose privileges. Reward charts never work with them.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
splatz
by Sarah on Oct. 2, 2012 at 10:50 AM
Welcome! I agree with loosing privileges, that is always the most effective with my oldest. But, every child is different. Just keep trying new things until you find what works for him.

Good luck mama!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
MistressMinerva
by Jennifer on Oct. 2, 2012 at 11:35 AM

Hi Sandi. Welcome to the group. Sorry your having problems with your son. Most 4 yr olds go thru that. Just keep trying new things until something works.

lovedbymom
by on Oct. 2, 2012 at 11:38 AM

Welcome Sandi!!  My kids lose privileges when they act up or have temper tantrums.

NicksMom1407
by on Oct. 2, 2012 at 12:26 PM

Thanks everyone! I have tried taking away privileges and even taking away toys. He is given the consequences and a warning. I'm just getting frustrated and I'm sure that's not going to help the situation.