Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom to Mom Mom to Mom

Lactose? ?

Posted by on Feb. 5, 2013 at 2:51 PM
  • 8 Replies
Do any of the moms here deal with children that have lactose issues? If so any pointers would be great. I was a pediatric nurse for 8 + years and dealt with it often, when it is your own it's different. We are doing a 2 week study now by eliminating all dairy from her diet. I bought Silk milk today, will go to Whole Foods to get her dairy free cheese and a few other foods to try.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Feb. 5, 2013 at 2:51 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
Ravishing_dame
by on Feb. 5, 2013 at 4:36 PM

Diary in my opinion, isn't something that needs to be given to children in high amounts anyways.  It's high in fat, sugar and animal proteins.  It's not really a lost cause that you are giving her silk milk etc.  There are many alternatives out there that I use (yes I am an organic freak) and my children seem ok with it, though they have been use to it for years.  It may end up being a no big deal for you. 

babynurse454
by on Feb. 5, 2013 at 4:41 PM
We only drink 1% milk and we eat light yogurt, and cheese, I really watch what we all eat. So.much has dairy in it, it could be gluten this is just a 2 week testing to see if it is dairy.

Quoting Ravishing_dame:

Diary in my opinion, isn't something that needs to be given to children in high amounts anyways.  It's high in fat, sugar and animal proteins.  It's not really a lost cause that you are giving her silk milk etc.  There are many alternatives out there that I use (yes I am an organic freak) and my children seem ok with it, though they have been use to it for years.  It may end up being a no big deal for you. 

Posted on CafeMom Mobile
goddess99
by Michelle on Feb. 5, 2013 at 6:45 PM

bump

kewimom
by Member on Feb. 5, 2013 at 6:58 PM