Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom to Mom Mom to Mom

Therapist / Social Worker??

Posted by on Feb. 13, 2013 at 8:07 PM
  • 16 Replies

I am going back to school after a 6 year hyatus.  After speaking with the admissions dept at the school, it looks like I will be done by the end of the year.  Are any of you a Therapist or Social Worker??  If so, do you have any career advice?  Thoughts??

by on Feb. 13, 2013 at 8:07 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
grneyedormom
by Member on Feb. 13, 2013 at 10:57 PM
I'm a social worker. If you want to do therapy, you'll need your Master's. are you completing your Bachelor's? Good luck, I work in the child welfare field.

ETA: In my state, to practice therapy, you need your Master's and to be a LCSW. Even if you want to be a school counselor.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
erikadi
by Member on Feb. 14, 2013 at 9:58 AM
1 mom liked this

I have my degree in Psychology and Social Work. I would definitely get your Masters and also get certified and licensed there are more career opportunities that way. If you want to work in adoption I was asked a lot if I had worked at Child Protective Services.

lazydayz
by on Feb. 15, 2013 at 9:33 PM

How do I find out my state requirements??  I live in Florida... I have been getting conflicting answers.  I suppose I could call Dept of Bus and professional relations....

Quoting grneyedormom:

I'm a social worker. If you want to do therapy, you'll need your Master's. are you completing your Bachelor's? Good luck, I work in the child welfare field.

ETA: In my state, to practice therapy, you need your Master's and to be a LCSW. Even if you want to be a school counselor.

lazydayz
by on Feb. 15, 2013 at 9:36 PM