Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom to Mom Mom to Mom

If you have dogs. Are your dogs afraid of storms?

Posted by   + Show Post

We had bad storms all last night. It knocked our power out. The dogs are so afraid of storms!

by on Jun. 13, 2013 at 7:26 PM
Replies (11-20):
Janet
by Ruby Member on Jun. 14, 2013 at 10:57 PM

It must be common.

Quoting luvnature:

every dogs my family ever had when I was growing up were all terrified of storms. 

Janet
by Ruby Member on Jun. 14, 2013 at 10:57 PM

Aww.  lol

Quoting 22donnas:

my dog rolls up in his blanket looks like a burrito on the floor by our bed.

Janet
by Ruby Member on Jun. 14, 2013 at 10:59 PM

The crate don't work for mine.

Quoting JodyLane555:

I am a dog parent and professional pet sitter. Many dogs get anxious when there are storms, some things that help are:

1mg Melatonin

The Thundershirt or other close fitting dog sweater work real well

Also if they have a crate to just close them in til the storm passes

Sometimes they just like their belly rubbed!

Gabrielle1982
by on Jun. 15, 2013 at 9:26 AM
1 mom liked this

Growing up our dogs were.  The dog I have now isn't.  She's weird.

CafeMom Tickers
Janet
by Ruby Member on Jun. 15, 2013 at 11:30 AM

Be glad she isn't afraid. It's a pain.

Quoting Gabrielle1982:

Growing up our dogs were.  The dog I have now isn't.  She's weird.

honeydewmommy
by on Jun. 15, 2013 at 11:36 AM
1 mom liked this

Petrefied, she comes running and will not leave ur lap or will literally get under the covers or go under the bed. 

Diane1223
by Member on Jun. 15, 2013 at 8:48 PM
My dog is fine us with them, he just lays around or stays by us, as usual.
Venae
by on Jun. 15, 2013 at 8:58 PM