Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom to Mom Mom to Mom

Am I Being Unreasonable?

Posted by on Jan. 22, 2014 at 2:33 PM
  • 22 Replies

Good afternoon.

I hope to hear some good feedback; good or bad.  

I am very new to step parenting.  We have two of my husband's 4 boys living with us.  When we married, they moved into the home I own.  It is a 2 bedroom condo, 2 bath but shared shower/tub.  I give this information for a reason.....lol

I want them to feel like the home is their home as well.  The youngest who is 15 has been through some difficulties in school and past relaships of his farthers.  So I have compassion and empathy for him.  My heart breaks for some of the things he has gone through.

That aside, he has no respect for the house or the contents of the house that are mine.  Sometimes I feel like I harp on them all of the time, and that is NOT my nature. I am told  I worry too much about the lttle things.  Here are a few things that get, and continue to be under my skin.  I would love to hear comments; good or bad.

Putting and leaving dirty ball caps on the kitchen table

leaving shoes/ear buds/footballs and other things lying around in the living room after being told over and over to put them away.

45 minute showers, yes you read that correctly.  I am showered, dressed and ready to leave the house in less time that it taks the youngest to shower; let alone get ready.

They have no sense of urgency