Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom to Mom Mom to Mom

Feeling very lost - should I become a mother?

Posted by on Mar. 4, 2014 at 4:11 PM
  • 19 Replies

Hi everyone. I just joined this group and hoped to gain some wisdom from some of you moms. I have been married for 2 years and I'm 28 years old. My husband and I want to start a family soon - but I am so scared! The closer we get to the decision, the more I feel I'll NEVER be ready for what's in store. I have always wanted to be a mother, and always imagined I'd be in my late twenties when I had my first. Now that I'm here, I feel torn. On the one hand, I know my husband and I are secure enough in our marriage to welcome a child. I don't doubt my ability to be a good mother (I'm a teacher and work with young children every day). I simply don't know if I have room or desire in my life to devote myself to another human being. I'm in a very happy place in my life, and I feel content and enjoy having my independence - plus my work makes me exhausted enough without wondering how I'd manage to add a child to the mix. I know I would need to give 100% to my baby for the next 18 years of my life. How can I EVER feel ready for that? I already feel that my life is so full.

I wanted to know from you who are mothers... and I'm hoping you'll give me your honest answers. Do you miss your life before you had children? Are there things you wish you could do? And do you feel that a part of yourself was lost after having a child? How much did you change as a person? Thank you so much!

by on Mar. 4, 2014 at 4:11 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
johnny4ever
by Mrs. Depp on Mar. 4, 2014 at 4:15 PM
1 mom liked this