Advertisement
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Cleaning & Organizing Cleaning & Organizing

Hoarder!!! And I am officially organized in one week!

Posted by on Aug. 23, 2014 at 11:53 PM
  • 11 Replies
2 moms liked this
My home is beautiful for the first time in my life. It lacks the clutter that has been weighing me down for twenty plus years. This is the best feeling ever.

To get there took one week with a live in professional organizer. She also has a major in psychology. I need to save my marriage.

I came to a few conclusions. I learned much along the way. I have been moving clutter for many years. I may have temporarily been able to make a couple rooms in my home look decent but stuff never had a designated place.

Bins and labels!!! What a concept! Yes, I had purchased some over the years but never enough. I also never labeled them. Kid toys now have a bin with labels (with no lid on a high shelf). My son has adapted very quickly. (And the house is safer for him!)My crafting supplies now all have bins and labels. The bathrooms and closets now have bins with labels. Everything now has a place! That makes putting things where they belong much easier.

Laundry. I have officially given up sorting by color! I now sort by person. My hubby, son and I each have our own laundry baskets. Plus towel and sheet baskets. Now, I can easily wash a load, and know that I only need to put away one persons clothes. We as a family have way too many clothes. We don't have room for them all in drawers. I finally came to the conclusion that large bins are the way to go. Each of us now have bins in out of the way areas for shirts, pants/shorts, underwear and socks.