Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Teaching Kids Healthy Habits Teaching Kids Healthy Habits

Quick Tips for Maintaining Good Oral Care in Tweens This School Year

Posted by   + Show Post

Hi, I'm Dr. Jennifer Salzer. As an orthodontist and dentist, I spend a lot of time looking in kids' mouths, but I'm also a mom of four so I know how hard it can be to get older kids to embrace a good oral care regimen, especially during the morning rush before school. Adolescents are busy people with unpredictable schedules and sometimes they don't take the time to practice good oral hygiene. As a parent, I know you want to help your kids establish good morning routines now to help keep their teeth healthy for life. That's why I'm going to share with you my best tips and tools for helping your tween understand the importance of good oral care habits.

The In-beTWEEN Years

On the Go: If you're concerned your tween might be missing spots while brushing, leave products like mouthwash in unexpected places, such as the kitchen, for kids to use after breakfast and after brushing. Crest Pro-Health FOR METM Anti-cavity Fluoride Rinse reaches areas your child may have missed and comes in two flavors your tween will like!  

Brace Face: It is important to show kids with braces the correct way to brush. Using a two-step system - brushing from the top down, and then the bottom up - will help dislodge any breakfast that may be stuck in the brackets. Provide your tween with great tools like the Oral-B Pro-Health FOR ME CrossAction Toothbrush and FOR ME Floss Picks which are specially designed to clean hard to reach areas between teeth, sending them off to school with a clean and healthy smile.