Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I used to wear Red Shoes **updated on Sept. 20

Posted by on Sep. 14, 2011 at 10:19 AM
  • 8 Replies

First love - September 14, 2011 

Who was your first love?

Yearbook signing day in my high school was a big tradition.  We carried four or five of our friend's books with us, wrote our special messages and exchanged those for more when other friends passed us in the hallways.  Sometimes, we were told to leave the book with a certain teacher and the owner would pick it up at the end of the day.  When the final bell rang, we would scurry to find own book, then hurry to the soda shoppe where we would read the notes to see who had signed and what they had said.  I had been waiting for just the right moment to approach my "crush"; I was beginning to think it wasn't going to happen.  He would be graduating in a few days and I was a lowly sophomore.  I had to wait my turn.  Our only interactions had been smiles in the hallways, a nod now and then and once he gave me a dry towel when swimming class was finished.  We had a real romance going, don't you think?  Just seeing him sent butterflies to my stomach and my heart would race.  Was I going to be brave enough to ask him to sign my book?

The next day I was sent to the boys' gym with some paperwork for the coach.  Since my typing teacher and the coach were married and she was sending the paperwork, I suspected it was a grocery list and not really school business.  Just before the bell rang, she told me to go and then I could go home.  I opened the door to the coach's office and my heart started to thump, there he was, my Crush, sitting across from the coach. My inner voices told me not to look at him, I opened the door and gulped.

"Mrs. Shields asked me to give this to you," I held out the envelope.

"Hi, kiddo, how are ya?" Coach smiled as he took it.