Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Raising Special Needs Kids Raising Special Needs Kids

What I've Learned

Posted by on Aug. 5, 2011 at 1:10 AM
  • 10 Replies

I've been parenting for almost 10 years.  Our first child was special needs and most of our 13 (soon to be 17) have special needs.  I was reading the introductions and most of you have very young children.  I read one where the lady sounded so discouraged in particular.  I decided I needed to share with you what I've learned.  Are you ready (lol) . . . . . . .

Doctors, therapists, and other professionals HAVE NO IDEA WHAT YOUR CHILD CAN REALLY ACCOMPLISH!!!  They just don't know anything about the future.  They give you a guess.  They are  usually wrong. 

I've had kids accomplish so much more than I was told that they could. 

Zeeky is 6.  At three years old when he came to us he was completely nonverbal and they said he would never talk.  His autism was SEVERE.  He was SEVERELY mentally retarded.  He only ate poptarts and cereal bars (bc the foster parents didn't want to try anything else) and took a bottle regularly with no use of a sippy at all.  NOW he has been reading sight words for over a year.  He knows all his phonics sounds.  He can name all of his shapes, including octagons.  He knows his colors, numbers, and letters.  Nothing about him is SEVERE.

He is just one example out of so many here.