Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Raising Special Needs Kids Raising Special Needs Kids

New to this - any advice for a single mom with a special needs kid?

Posted by on Dec. 5, 2011 at 11:55 AM
  • 11 Replies

Hello all, Im new to this. Im looking for help and support. my son is 6 months with severe brain damage and am really struggling with adjusting. any advice?

thanks melissa gardinal

by on Dec. 5, 2011 at 11:55 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
CameronsMommy23
by on Dec. 5, 2011 at 11:58 AM
Welcome Melissa! A lot of the moms here includidng me have children with brain injuries. We're here for you! Just take it one day at a time & make sure you take time for yourself! Do you have any family that can help you?
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
melissag1027
by on Dec. 5, 2011 at 11:59 AM

thanks so much for answering me. I have a little family help, but not much. Im young, and feel like my life is over. I cant do anything with him, and alot of friends dont understand.

letstalk747
by Joy on Dec. 5, 2011 at 12:44 PM

welcome ,

one thing i never forget is the fact that its even harder for our kids

melissag1027
by on Dec. 5, 2011 at 12:49 PM

thank you. im sure it is very hard for him. im doing my best....its hard

mandee1503
by Amanda on Dec. 5, 2011 at 1:19 PM
1 mom liked this
Welcome to the group. My son has a brain malformation, and my advice is never give up hope. Also don't let the drs get you down. They may tell you all the bad news but kids have a way of surprising us. When you least expect it your son will start doing things you never thought possible.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
melissag1027
by on Dec. 5, 2011 at 1:21 PM

thanks so much :] means alot. yeah the drs deff get me down sometimes. hes a litle miracle but a lot of work and a hand ful!

darbyakeep45
by Darby on Dec. 5, 2011 at 2:55 PM