Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Raising Special Needs Kids Raising Special Needs Kids

NEED HELP POTTY TRAINING AUTISTIC CHILD

Posted by   + Show Post

hey im bethany, im a special needs teacher and special needs nurse, i currently am a live in nurse for a young man that is 7 years old, he has severe autism and his parents are away both in the military and i have to take care of him, they are trying to potty train him but with them being away its difficult and they are both about to deploy and i really would like to have him potty trained for them b4 they leave. i however dont have children so im not sure how to potty train, he is very good and very well behaved, im sure it wont take a long time to potty train him, but im not sure how to potty train. any help would be a great help and i know his parents would greatly appreciate it. :) thanks

by on Apr. 22, 2012 at 8:11 PM
Replies (11-16):
1plce4spclneeds
by on Apr. 23, 2012 at 9:39 AM
1 mom liked this

Hi Bethany, first off you are a wonderful person to tackle this for the family.  I would suggest starting an elimination chart.  You write down what time he eats and drinks and what time he eliminates.  After the second week you will see a pattern (e.g. he'll have a bowel movement 30 minutes after dinner).  Especially for someone older, you want him to make the connection that when his body feels a certain way, it's time to go to the bathroom.  Plus you're bringing him to the bathroom when you know he needs to go.

Keep in mind that he might have sensory issues or low muscle tone (hypotonia) that might make it difficult for him to determine that he does in fact need to use the bathroom.  You may also be dealing with some set in behaviors where he may try to be resistant.