Dear Superintendent V –

I wanted to take a moment and share two of my concerns with L Public Schools.  I graduated from L in 1989, and I am a proud Lancer. As a local business owner and home owner, I support the school district with my time and my taxes.  My two concerns actually work hand in hand – the faulty “Zero Tolerance Bully Policy” and lack of empathy and training of teachers in the General Education Setting to work with Special Needs children. 

My first concern is the “Zero Tolerance Bully Policy”.  If a child were to tell my child “I’m gonna kill you”, I would be very upset.  A “Zero Tolerance Policy” punishes the child who made the verbalization, no questions asked.  Let us add some more details to the story.  The child who made the statement is a High Functioning Special Needs child (with a diagnosed Central Nervous System Disorder) and is under an IEP for Emotional Impairment.  The child was bullied by other students in his class, repeatedly being told he wasn’t allowed to play with one of his friends anymore, told he wasn’t able to go on class field trips,  and was called a “cry baby” in a taunting tone on numerous occasions.  This discrimination by exclusion and taunting goes on for several months.  When the Special Needs boy finally reacts by verbalizing his anger, the bullies “tattle” and take great pleasure at the Special Needs boy’s removal from class.  This sets up reinforcement for the behavior on the part of the bullies.  See the Special Needs boy again, get him to react, he is removed, and we are happy he was punished again.  This is great fun!