Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

angelman syndrome

Posted by on Jul. 21, 2012 at 9:26 AM
  • 18 Replies
I have recently got in touch with my uncle whim i haven't seen or heard from since i was 5 or 6 years old. Long story short my dad didn't keep in touch with his side of the family. Well i learned that two of my cousins who are 12 now have angelman syndrome. My uncle was told that they would never walk and be on feeding tubes all there lives. Dr.s told him to pu them in a home. My uncle is a great father. He said no i will raise them and they will succeed. My cousins learned how to walk and can say a few words. My uncle had become an advocate for his boys and has done lots of public speaking. He pushed for a special needs playground to be built in his sons school and one in the city. I can not believe i was so out of touch with such a great man. I am just learning about this disorder and am hoping to learn all i can. I hear its a neurological disdorder often people with this disorder get mistaken for autism or cp. It causes lots of delays in physical and mental. It causes seizures. Well atleadt my cousin have seizures. I am hoping to learn more. Does anyone here have kids with this disorder and can tell me more?
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Jul. 21, 2012 at 9:26 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mandee1503
by Amanda on Jul. 21, 2012 at 9:31 AM
1 mom liked this
Here is a bump. We don't, but someone else might.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
lifeisajoy
by on Jul. 21, 2012 at 10:51 AM
1 mom liked this

I don't have it but there is an Angelman Syndrome Foundation (NORD) --that has lots of info on it---

myfirstborn04
by on Jul. 21, 2012 at 10:56 AM
1 mom liked this
Thanks!!!

Quoting lifeisajoy:

I don't have it but there is an Angelman Syndrome Foundation (NORD) --that has lots of info on it---

Posted on CafeMom Mobile
letstalk747