Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Raising Special Needs Kids Raising Special Needs Kids

SPD and foods

Posted by on Feb. 12, 2013 at 9:47 PM
  • 8 Replies

So I am new to this SPD stuff and I am starting to read stuff about different foods affecting behavior. What is the deal? Red dye? What does that do? Is there a book or website I can reference to learn about all this?

by on Feb. 12, 2013 at 9:47 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
Elyssa414
by Elyssa on Feb. 12, 2013 at 11:43 PM
2 moms liked this
There is a great book, full of recipes called "Special diets for Special kids" you can get it on Amazon
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
arkansasmama08
by Gold Member on Feb. 13, 2013 at 1:43 AM

there's a lot of science that says cutting out red dye, sugars, gluten and caesin helps behaviors. We've recently switched to a paleo diet (gf, grain free, sugar free, dairy free, etc) and have seen some improvement, though mostly with our oldest who has aspergers. Our daughter has spd and I havent been able to see any real noticable change in her :( 

To learn more about spd in general, try finding the book The Out Of Sync Child. It really helps to make sense of a lot of what goes on in their minds and bodies.

darbyakeep45
by Darby on Feb. 13, 2013 at 4:57 AM

Elyssa has a good idea! Hugs and good luck!

natesmom1228
by on Feb. 13, 2013 at 9:34 AM

Welcome to the group!!

Hottubgodess
by on Feb. 13, 2013 at 11:34 AM

The standards are gluten, sugar, dairy, MSG, artificial sweetners (including spenda) and red dye.  :)  But each child is different.  Mine only has sensitivities to peanuts (full blown allergy).  :) 

CameronsMommy23
by on Feb. 13, 2013 at 12:51 PM
I've been reading up on this too. I'll have to look at those sites.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
lasombrs
by Member on Feb. 13, 2013 at 9:42 PM