Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Raising Special Needs Kids Raising Special Needs Kids

Nana to a very special girl!

Posted by on Jun. 27, 2013 at 10:44 PM
  • 12 Replies

I am new to cafemom and I wanted to introduce myself. My name is Lona, age is confidential, lol. Let's just say, I'm a nana and leave it at that! I am not her GRANDMA I am her NANA. My sister passed away July 1, 2012 when her granddaugher was just two or three months old. After her granddaugher was born she was sent to the N.I.C.U and my sister's health just wouldn't allow her to be there as much as she would have liked. So, she asked me to step in and help her and my neice through the situation. In being there, I got very close to my sister's grandbaby, who's name is Heidi and some of you may know of her mother. She is active in this group. Anyways, my sister asked me to step in and be Heidi's nana as she didn't think she would live much longer and wanted her grandbaby to have a grandma like figure in her life. I do not expect or want to take my sister's place as Heidi's grandma and as she grows up I will tell her all about her grandma and how much she loved her. I am not taking her grandma's spot in her heart, I am creating my own! Heidi has hydrocephalus and PVL. She is developmentally delayed, but that makes her so much more to love! 

by on Jun. 27, 2013 at 10:44 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Linagma03
by Gold Member on Jun. 27, 2013 at 11:50 PM

Welcome to the group! She is a wonderful little thing. All our babies seem to make our lives & ourselves better just for them being a part of it.

• My 2nd time around. I LOVE EVERY MINUTE!!!
  •          boy n girlblowing bubbles
  • Ronny              Asa                     Lina 
cjsix
by on Jun. 27, 2013 at 11:52 PM

Sounds like you are all a Blessing for each other!

MommaC63
by on Jun. 28, 2013 at 12:11 AM