Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Hello

Posted by on Jan. 18, 2017 at 6:54 PM
  • 13 Replies

Mobile Photo

Hello everyone! I am new to raising a child with special needs. I have 3 boys ages 10, 7, and 5. My 5 year old son has CAS (childhood apraxia of speech). He was diagnosed in May but we didn't receive word until September. Some days are better than others. Weekly appointments for different therapies. Lucky that my insurance covers most of the cost for therapy.

Just looking to see if there are any other families that are going through the same thing.
by on Jan. 18, 2017 at 6:54 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
LadyAmaranth
by on Jan. 18, 2017 at 7:04 PM

Hello and welcome aboard!!!

Im the mom of 3 boys as well. Mine are 12, 10, and 9. All have ASD, two have ADHD, and all have mood disorder-nos.
I understand the good and bad days and various appointments. None of mine dealt with Apraxia but have known moms whose kids did.

I'm glad you are here!!

timeywimey
by New Member on Jan. 18, 2017 at 7:07 PM
Thank you! Still learning about Apraxia and all it entails. He also has sensory issues.

Hard to be a mom to him sometimes because I can't tell if I'm "spoiling" him like my husband says or just giving him the extra attention that he needs.

Quoting LadyAmaranth:

Hello and welcome aboard!!!

Im the mom of 3 boys as well. Mine are 12, 10, and 9. All have ASD, two have ADHD, and all have mood disorder-nos.I understand the good and bad days and various appointments. None of mine dealt with Apraxia but have known moms whose kids did.

I'm glad you are here!!

babyboxfish
by on Jan. 18, 2017 at 8:41 PM

welcome

N.Carter2001
by Silver Member on Jan. 18, 2017 at 9:22 PM
Welcome, Im a mom of 2 boys. Jacob is 8 years old. He has autism and in a wheelchair. He has a speech delay. Chase is 5 years old.
jjamom