Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

wanting to adopt

Posted by on Apr. 9, 2013 at 12:31 AM
  • 7 Replies

Hi!  I'm new to cafemom, and it was recommended to me.  I'm 37-years old, married, infertile, and I very much want to be a mom.  I live near Chicago, IL.  I've gone to a few adoption meetings and have been reading books and browsing a lot of websites.  I haven't decided which way to go.  My husband and I don't have any extra money to spare, but I am afraid to do a low-cost foster-to-adopt program because of the high risk of fostering a child that will return to his or her birthparents.  I keep going back and forth between international and domestic adoption in my mind.  My husband is from a former Soviet Union country, but the Russian adoption program is closed (thank Putin).  Anyway, just thought I'd check this out for advice.  Thanks!

by on Apr. 9, 2013 at 12:31 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
mcginnisc
by on Apr. 9, 2013 at 6:51 AM

Welcome to the group! 

There are a lot of foster moms in the group that have adopted, so I'm sure you will be able to glean a lot of useful information from them. There are several DIA moms in the group as well. As far as IA goes, there are very few of us. I am one of the IA moms.