Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

i need some honest mom to mom and woman to woman advice on working

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post

so for three years i stayed home and i loved it, but hubs got laid off and we needed mor money so i started working (this was back in july) im a bartender but after calling and applying at about 30 places still nothing everywhere is full, so i work as a server at chili's. the chili's i worked at burned down the past week and i was transferd to a chili's 45 mins from me = more gas. the past two nights iv only been on for 3 hrs and made $28 sat and $33 sun which isent bad BUT i have to pay th baby sitter $20 a day so in reality i only made$21 this weekend :/ and i spent $23 in gas which means i paid $2 to work...... 

my husband and fil suggested i just stop working and go back to being a sahm (hubs makes about $1,300 a week now that he was hired on as an employee froma contracter) but we have alot of debt so we are still struggling to get basic needs.

if i quit i have to give my car back to my fil (i was buying it from him since hubs car is manual and i dont like driving stick lol), which with hubs workign 7 days a week from 6am to 8pm he would have to take off work so we could do anything, groceries, or doctors everything, it would just be a big hassle. its so much easier now that i have a car. but i dont know if its worth it to keep working if im not really even making much

the short

keep working for little money and hope it picks up and keep the car

or

quit give back the car and stay home and deal with the stress of trying to scedual everything

im going to talk to my managers today about my situation, they are very proactive and very supportive (a 360 from my previous managers)

but what would you do?

Posted by Anonymous on Dec. 12, 2011 at 11:59 AM
Replies (11-18):
NDADanceMom
by on Dec. 12, 2011 at 12:37 PM