Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

Is this the "norm" for an annual gynecological exam?? I'm kinda freaked out. :(

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post

I'm fairly new to the city I live in, and recently had my first exam since moving here.  I was referred to a doc by a friend of mine, but wasn't able to get in with her, so I got in with another doc from the same office.  I've actually never had a female gyno, so it didn't bother me that this doc is a male.

There were a couple things that were different during this exam that I have never experienced before.  While he was doing the pap, he said everything looks good, no abnormalities from what I can see.  Okay, that's fine.  But when he went to do a pelvic, he took his free hand and raised the sheet and looked at my tummy.  He said he was looking for c-section scars.  I said "no, all three of my children were vaginal births".  He said "that's amazing".  O.O  WHAT???  Then, he asked me to do a kegel and hold it, saying it was to see if I was doing them correctly. I did one, and he said "okay, you are DEFINITELY doing it correctly, you can let go.  Your husband must be very happy." and then he let out a little chuckle. 

I'm definitely NOT going back to this particular doc. I  feel that his comments VERY unprofessional at best.  BUT, I'm 35 years old and I have NEVER had a doc as me to do a keagle during the exam.  Is this protocall?  Have my other docs the past 20 years just overlooked the kegel test? 

***ETA***  There was one other person in the room.   A male student doc. 

I couldn't say anything at the time, as I was having a hard time processing what I was hearing.  I was actually speechless.