Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mom Confessions Mom Confessions

should i write to this inmate? *long long

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post
Oh man I am kind of in shock right now...

In my senior year of high school I got my senior service credits by volunteering at an alternative/special ed school here in my metropolitan area. I was assigned to their six grade classroom and would assist there for 2 hours 5 days per week. The school was focused on kids with behavioral/emotional issues, and to put it bluntly it was full of bad ass kids with propensity toward violent outbursts. My kids were 12 years old, i was 18. My class was small...roughly 10 kids...and they quickly started warming up to me and looked forward to my time with them.

I enjoyed my time there and missed the kids and the bonds I had formed with them, but after I graduated and moved away for college they crossed my mind less and less often.

This evening, something randomly triggered my memory of my time there and I started Google-ing the names of the kids I could remember.

Here's the shocker - one of my favorite boys is serving a 25 year second-degree murder sentence!! he was 14 at the time of the murder (only 2 years after I left). =[[

I read up on his background, his charges, his case (plead to 2nd and 25, was charged with murder 1), and his appeal. It broke my heart. He came into this world to a 14 year old mother. He was found to be neglected, and had been involved with the law/juvenile court/CPS/foster care from the ripe old age of 5. This was a child who was failed by his family and community, then also failed by the system put in place to protect him. There's no way I can go into all the details.